Happy New Year!

I can’t believe it is the last day of 2013 already. It is a good time to reflect on this past year and think about what I plan to accomplish in 2014.

I read 41 books in 2013. The top ones are listed below, for which I might write separate mini reviews later. Let me know if you are interested in seeing the full list. 🙂

  • Switch: How to Change Things When Change Is Hard by Chip Heath and Dan Heath
  • The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts by Gary Chapman
  • The Honest Truth about Dishonesty by Dan Ariely
  • Tesla: The Wizard of Electricity by David J. Kent
  • Inferno by Dan Brown
  • The Inextinguishable Symphony: A True Story of Music and Love in Nazi Germany by Martin Goldsmith
  • Great Souls: Six Who Changed the Century by David Aikman
  • Bridge of Sighs by Richard Russo

Compared to 2012, I didn’t travel as much this year – only visited one new country Jamaica. But I did check off two National Parks from my list – Great Smoky Mountains and Mammoth Cave. I also  made a trip back to China in July for reunions with both middle school friends and college friends, some of whom I haven’t met for nearly 20 years. It was good fun. Counting in a few business trips to New York and London, all in all I spent 58 nights away from home this year.

In 2014, I plan to do what my blog tagline shows:

  • Read – likely 40-50 books, hopefully more good ones
  • Travel – to the southern hemisphere, visit a few more new countries
  • Play – more exercises (maybe lose 5 lbs), less time spent on games
  • Feel – God’s love, natural beauty, other people’s needs
  • Learn – professional expertise, Bible, Chinese brush painting

Happy New Year, everyone! Looking forward to a wonderful 2014!

10 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Thanks for sharing this blog with me. Very interesting and encouraging.. I will start read some of the books that you recommended. Have a great 2014!!!

Leave a Reply

