Travelogue (III)

Bitterly cold outside. A few inches of snow on the deck. I switch between typing on my laptop and holding a mug of hot tea. As usual, recalling the past times and amazing places and old friends and fun stories puts a smile on my face.

2003 – I went on a business trip to Kansas City, MO. At my colleague’s suggestion, we flew with Midwest Airlines and got quite a few pleasant surprises. Once there, we crossed the MO/KS state line multiple times to commute between offices. Throughout the year I made a few trips to Seattle, during one of which I visited Olympics National Park and had such a wonderful time – snow-capped mountains, beach, and rain forest, all in one park.

2004 – Another 3000-mile road trip from Seattle to Washington, DC. On the way I visited Yellowstone National Park, Grand Teton National Park (so foggy that I only saw the feet of the mountains), Mt. Rushmore, Badlands National Park, Chicago (heavy rain again so I still didn’t see much), and Pittsburgh. A trip to San Francisco (again) for a church retreat at the end of the year.

2005 – A China trip immediately after receiving my Green Card (saw my 3-year-old niece for the first time). A short visit to Detroit and Ann Arbor in July. Joint Statistical Meetings in Minneapolis in August. Then two road trips – to Boston in November (got my first and only speeding ticket in the morning of the Thanksgiving Day), and to St. Louis and Kansas City in December. These trips were very different in terms of purposes and people involved, but each was fun in its own way.

Okay, that is enough travel for today. The next travelogue will start with my road trip in Canada. Stay tuned. 🙂

One thought on “Travelogue (III)

Leave a Reply

