Family Reunion

Because of my aunt’s visit, my family had a reunion in Beijing last week… They had a great time… wish I were there!

Here is a very simple family tree to help readers navigate the relationships as I write more family stories.

Family Tree

My mom, three uncles, sister, cousin 1 and 3 are all living in Beijing. My aunt and I are in the United States. Cousin 2 went to Germany to study a few years ago. Cousin 4 was born in Beijing and moved to US when she was 8 years old. She has been working in China (Beijing and Shanghai) in the past few years, and is about to move back to US later this year.

You probably have noticed, only my mom got to have more than one child – I was indeed very fortunate that she had me a few years before China introduced the one-child policy. The policy has its pros and cons, but it was enforced quite effectively alright.

I can’t remember when was the last time we six cousins got together. I clearly remember once in 1990 but not sure if there was another time since then… Sigh. Likely the photo albums will show that I was the only one missing from the pack in at least two occasions. 😦

2 thoughts on “Family Reunion

  1. I’m glad your mother got you into existence just under the wire. 🙂

    Good idea to do a family tree to help people keep track of who is who in your stories. I must admit that if I tried to do something similar it would look like less like a tree and more like an entire forest.

Leave a Reply

