My Memory, My Time

Today I found an amusing article that I wrote in January, 2009 as follows:

### Last year I read a book titled ‘CrazyBusy’. The author said that most of us busy people today are somewhat suffering from ADD – We take on far more tasks than our brains can comfortably process, thus we don’t pay enough attention to any of them. I kinda feel the impact recently, from my seemingly deteriorating memory…

  • I confirmed a dentist appointment that would be 2 days away, and on that day got a phone call from them asking ‘Why are you still in YOUR office, when you should be in OUR office?’ 
  • Before I went to bed, I opened the contact lens cases, poured in solution, then closed the cases – without removing the lens from my eyes and putting them in.
  • I accepted a conference call invitation that would happen in half an hour, then got distracted and totally forgot about it.

etc. etc. etc…

I don’t believe I am gradually losing my mind. I think I am just too busy. So I take a close look at how I spend my time each week (on average), and here is a summary (try it for yourself, it is fun):

I have 24*7=168 hours each week.

Sleep: 8*7= 56 hours
Eat (cook, eat out, wash dishes): 15 hours
Rest (shower, brush teeth, contact lens, etc): 4 hours
Work: 8*5= 40 hours
Commute: 3*5= 15 hours
Church (Bible study, pray, Sunday service, volunteer): 10 hours
MSN chat/Gather/Facebook: 12 hours
Read books: 4 hours
Watch Netflix movies: 3 hours
Write journal: 4 hours
Phone calls (family, friends): 3 hours
Shopping (grocery, books, clothes, etc.): 2 hours

Of course, some hours are double counted, for example, I can make phone calls/read during commute, or MSN chat/watch movies when eating… But I will need these additional hours to pump gas, exercise, surf web, clean house, pay bills, put out trash, water plants, do laundry, meet friends, see doctors (doctor, dentist, orthodontics, chiropractor), try to find stuff, try to remember things, etc. etc. etc. 🙂

No wonder. But on what activities can I cut my time budget?? ###

Now, seven years is a long time and my hours have definitely shifted. “Commute” hours have decreased from 15 hours to 2 hours; “Church” time has gone down significantly; “MSN chat/Gather” time is eliminated, perhaps switched to ‘Blog/Games’; “Read books” increased from 4 hours to 12 hours; “Watch movies” down to 1 hour; “Write journal” no more. “Phone calls” should be renamed to “WeChat”, my major channel for connecting with family and friends. And its hours need to increase to 15.

I am doing exercises more regularly so at least 5 hours a week should be registered. Also should add ‘Travel’ to this list although measuring it by average weekly hours is a challenge. I haven’t added these updated numbers up but I feel the 168 hours a week are more or less accounted for. This year I will pay more attention on how I spend my time…

 

One thought on “My Memory, My Time

Leave a Reply

